What happens after the rain in Vladivostok?

Last week Vladivostok experienced some severe rain and drastic weather conditions as if the hell broke loose and decided to pour over the small port city in the Russian Far East.

Strangely enough the drainage system [once again] didn’t work properly and people had to almost swim across the streets to get home. I once got stuck under the heavy rain when I lived in Vladivostok almost 6 years ago. I don’t remember why I decided to leave the house, as everyone knows that if you see some heavy rain or a wall of snow outside, you can just go back to sleep and maybe go to work the next day. Anyways, I decided to go somewhere and I needed to change busses in the middle of my way. So here I was all pretty and good-looking wearing nice tight jeans. I stepped out of the apartment with my shiny umbrella and the wind just took it away from me. Ah well, I thought it was useless anyways. I got on the bus and was dreading the moment I needed to change busses. When I reached another bus stop I found myself in the middle of a puddle trying to get through the endless sea of dirty water, floating trash and cars going back and forth. It was horrible, to say the least.

Needless to say, I tried to get a cab and back home. I spent at least half an hour walking back and forth in useless attempt to get on a bus or to get a cab. My sexy jeans got all wet and heavy, my hair turned into a mess, my mascara ran down my face thus making me look like some victim of domestic abuse. This story happened over 6 years ago.

In spite of the world’s progress and innovation, Russia seems to be stuck in the past. Nothing changes here: every year authorities act all surprised as if they didn’t see the summer or winter coming. Come on you guys, it rains every summer here and snows in winter, why can’t you get prepared for once and fix the horrible drainage system??? Here are the pictures of the aftermath:

by Zheka Vasch

by Zheka Vasch

by Zheka Vasch

by Zheka Vasch

by Zheka Vasch

by Zheka Vasch

by Sergey Yasinkov

by Sergey Yasinkov

by Sergey Yasinkov

by Sergey Yasinkov

