Unusual Thai fruits

Here is a list of the most unusual and weird fruits from Thailand. I’ve spent seven months in Thailand and have explored various local markets. I love most of these fruits and cannot stand some of them. Please have a look

This is langsat. I used to call it lichie [thanks to my ignorance]. This delicious fruit can be found on any street market across Thailand. It tastes somewhat like lichie. It has a black seed inside and a very juicy white flesh. Simply delicious!!!

Langsat by Flickr user Marshall Astor

Langsat by Flickr user Marshall Astor

Dragon fruit is one of my favorite fruits. I love its funky outlook and a very delicate taste. Some people say it doesn’t have any taste, yet it is very light and peculiar.

Dragonfruit by Poonam Jugaloo on Flickr

Dragonfruit by Poonam Jugaloo on Flickr

Dragon fruit by Sparkey Davis on Flickr

Dragon fruit by Sparkey Davis on Flickr

Passion fruit is another funky fruit from Thailand. Not my favorite. Just saying

Passion fruit by Jackie Turner on Flickr

Passion fruit by Jackie Turner on Flickr

Now let me tell you about the most delicious fruit on earth – Mangosteen.

You need to put it between your palms and crack it open. It looks like some weird garlic, but tastes like rainbows and mango.

Here is what Wikipedia says about it:

The subsurface chemistry of the mangosteen exocarp comprises an array of polyphenols, including xanthones and tannins that assure astringency which discourages infestation by insects, fungi, plant viruses, bacteria and animal predation while the fruit is immature. Colour changes and softening of the exocarp are natural processes of ripening that indicates the fruit can be eaten and the seeds have finished developing.

Rambutan is another lichee-like fruit from Southeast Asia. It is very sweet and juicy.

Rambutan by jimithing14 on Flickr

Rambutan by jimithing14 on Flickr

Durian fruit. I honestly never tried it due to the funky smell. I could never overcome the smell to even taste the fruit. One of my vegetarian friends simply loves this fruit coz it makes her feel as if she is eating meat 🙂

I once was on a ferry to Koh Phangan island and I remember the horrible smell of durian. One of the passengers had it in her bag. I will never understand why people take this fruit on a ride thus torturing everyone around them.

Durian by lifeofmai on Flickr

Durian by lifeofmai on Flickr

